Home /
Stitt Library / Austin Seminary Archives / Our archival collections / Synod of Louisiana Board of Trustees for Presbyterian Publications records, 1902-1972
page tools :
email page print page small type large type


Descriptive Summary

Title: Synod of Louisiana Board of Trustees for Presbyterian Publications records
Dates: 1902-1972
Accession Number(s): 2010-005
Extent: 12 inches
Language: Materials are written in English.
Repository: Austin Seminary Archives at the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary

Biographical Note: The Synod of Louisiana was founded by the Presbyterian Church in the U.S. (PCUS) in 1901 upon the division of the Synod of Mississippi into two separate synods along state lines. Its headquarters were located in New Orleans, Louisiana, and it was comprised of three presbyteries: Louisiana, New Orleans, and Red River. To facilitate the transfer of property from the Synod of Mississippi, the Synod of Louisiana created The Board of Trustees of Presbyterian Publications at their initial meeting, held at the First Presbyterian Church in New Orleans from November 19-21, 1901. The Board of Trustees applied for incorporation shortly thereafter. Its duties primarily concerned the property and publication interests of the synod, including its first newspaper, The Southwestern Presbyterian. The activities of the Board of Trustees of Presbyterian Publications eventually expanded to include providing material and monetary support for Presbyterian projects, organizations, libraries, ministers, and students, both within the synod’s geographic region and across the southern United States. The Board of Trustees of Presbyterian Publications was dissolved in 1972, when the Synod of Louisiana merged with the Synods of Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Texas, to form the regional Synod of Red River.

Scope and Contents: Twelve inches of correspondence, financial and legal documents and committee meeting minutes (1902-1972) record the administrative activities of The Synod of Louisiana’s Board of Trustees for Presbyterian Publications. The material is arranged in five series: Legal Documents (1902, undated), Office of the Treasurer (1959-1972), Office of the Secretary (1947-1972), Projects Committee (1969-1970), and Louisiana Presbyterian (1970, undated).

The Legal Documents Series (1902, undated) contains materials that detail the creation and functions of the Board of Trustees. The documents also offer insights to the Board’s plans and expectations regarding publishing operations. The subsequent Office of the Treasurer (1959-1972) Series and Office of the Secretary (1947-1972) Series contain audits, invoices, correspondence, and meeting minutes that demonstrate how the Board selected and executed payments for projects approved for funding, as well as provide a snapshot of the Board’s operational expenses. It is important to note that several individuals, including George Summey, Albert Dinwiddie, C. Dana Singer, Morgan Shaw, and George H. Ricks, held the offices of Treasurer and Secretary during the periods represented in these two series. Of particular interest in the Office of the Secretary Series is a scrapbook that was passed from office holder to office holder that contains handwritten minutes and notes as well as pasted copies of minutes, reports, and newspaper clippings. The Office of the Secretary Series also includes a small selection of correspondence with personnel at the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary, including APTS President Dr. Prescott Williams, and Patricia McClurg, who served as chairman of the inauguration committee for Dr. Williams. The remaining series, Projects Committee (1969-1970) and Louisiana Presbyterian (1970), are small, however they showcase the functions of various subcommittees of the Board in relation to funding special projects and publishing the Synod’s newspaper.

The material was received in one complete accession (2010-005) as a donation from former Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary faculty member, Jerry R. Tompkins. The materials were given to Tompkins from Northern Louisiana Presbyterian Church historian, Spencer Murray. They were transferred to the Austin Seminary Archives prior to 2004.

Processing Information: Processed by Emily Deal and Abigail Nersesian, University of Texas School of Information Students, December 2, 2010.

Restrictions: Materials are available by appointment only. Contact the archivist for details.

Index Terms:
Williams, Prescott H., 1924-
Board of Presbyterian Publications--Louisiana.
Louisiana Presbyterian.
Presbyterian Church in the U.S.--Synod of Louisiana.
Presbyterian Church--Louisiana--History.
Louisiana--Church history.
Louisiana--History--20th century.

Other Finding Aids: This finding aid is also available in PDF format, which may be more suitable for printing. Click here to download the PDF version.

Preferred Citation: The Synod of Louisiana Board of Trustees for Presbyterian Publications records, 1902-1972, Austin Seminary Archives, Stitt Library, Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary.


Box Number:
E049   Legal documents:
    Founding documents, 1902 and undated
B076   Contract, undated
E049   Office of the Treasurer:
    Financial documents:
E050      1967
E050   Office of the Secretary:
    Scrapbook, 1946-1959
    Correspondence, 1955-1972
    Administrative documents, 1964-1971
    Minutes, 1969-1972
E050   Projects committee:
    Minutes, 1969-1970
    Report, 1970
E050   Louisiana Presbyterian:
    Report, 1970
    Treasurer’s report summaries, undated

© 2018 Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary
100 E. 27th Street Austin, Texas 78705
P: 512-404-4800
powered by finalsite