Home /
Stitt Library / Austin Seminary Archives / Our archival collections / David L. Stitt and Prescott H. Williams Jr. correspondence collection, 1960-1976
page tools :
email page print page small type large type


Descriptive Summary

Title: David L. Stitt and Prescott H. Williams Jr. correspondence collection
Dates: 1960-1976
Accession Number(s): 1996-057
Extent: 6 inches manuscript material
Language: Materials are written in English.
Repository: Austin Seminary Archives at the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary

Biographical Note: David Leander Stitt (1912-2003) served as president of Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary from 1945-1971. Significant occurrences during his presidency include the construction of the library, increases in seminary finances, and a continued dedication to the selection and expansion of the faculty. Upon his retirement in 1971, the APTS Alumni Association created the David L. Stitt Fellowship for seniors and renamed the campus library in his honor.

Prescott Harrison Williams, Jr. (1924-2009) served APTS as both a professor and in an administrative capacity. In 1966, he was appointed Dean of Faculty, a position he held for 10 years. After Stitt’s retirement, Williams served as Acting President from 1971-1972. He was asked to serve as President of the seminary, a position he held from 1972-1976. He resigned in order to focus on teaching and continued research; Williams continued as Professor of Old Testament Languages and Archaeology until his retirement in 1990.

Scope and Contents: Correspondence from the APTS presidencies of Stitt and Williams comprise The David L. Stitt and Prescott H. Williams Jr. Correspondence Collection. In the 1980s, this correspondence was gathered by a student worker from a selection of files under the direction of seminary professor C. Ellis Nelson. Nelson believed some of the material should be retained and had enduring value. This student created a partial index to the collection, which is available upon request.

Related collections: The Prescott H. Williams Jr. papers, the David Leander Stitt scrapbook, and the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary records at the Austin Seminary Archives, Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary.

Restrictions: Materials are available by appointment only. Contact the archivist for details.

Index Terms:
Stitt, David Leander.
Williams, Prescott H., 1924-
Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary.

Other Finding Aids: This finding aid is also available in PDF format, which may be more suitable for printing. Click here to download the PDF version.

Preferred Citation: David L. Stitt and Prescott H. Williams Jr. correspondence collection, 1960-1976, Austin Seminary Archives, Stitt Library, Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary


Box Number:
D045   David L. Stitt and Prescott H. Williams, Jr. correspondence:
    Stitt and Williams, 1971-1975, and undated
    Regarding Stan Hogle, 1966-1968
    David L. Stitt correspondence:
    Regarding Thomas White Currie Lectures, 1953-1954, 1971
    Dr. Henry Quinius, 1960-1961
    John Smiley, 1968-1971
    James A. Wharton, 1959-1968
    Dr. Coyle W. Williams, 1966-1967
    Prescott H. Williams, Jr. correspondence:
    Regarding the David L. Stitt Alumni Fellowship, 1972-1974
    Dr. James E. Andrews, 1972
    Miscellaneous correspondents “A,” 1971-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “A,” 1971-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “B,” 1970-1975, and undated
    Dr. Stuart Currie, 1961-1974, and undated
    Dr. Stuart Currie memorial material, 1975, and undated
    Miscellaneous correspondents “C,” 1970-1975
    Joe B. Donaho, 1973-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “D,” 1968-1974
    David and Debbie Ernsberger, 1972-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “G,” 1970-1975
    Houston Hodges, 1969-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “H,” 1967-1976
    Miscellaneous correspondents “J,” 1971-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “K,” 1968-1975
    Dr. Jorge Lara-Braud, 1972-1974
    Miscellaneous correspondents “L,” 1967-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “M,” 1968-1975
    Hugh D. Nelson, 1974-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “N,” 1969-1973
    Dr. Janos D. Pasztor, 1968-1974
    Miscellaneous correspondents “P,” 1969-1973
    Dr. Henry Quinius, 1972-1973, and undated
    Dr. Dietrich Ritschl, 1970-1974
    Miscellaneous correspondents “R,” 1968-1975, and undated
    Alfred F. Swearingen, 1971-1973
    Miscellaneous correspondents “S,” 1971-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “T,” 1970-1975
    Lee Underhilll, 1970
    U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, 1973
C082   James A. Wharton, 1967-1975, and undated
    Miscellaneous correspondents “W,” 1973-1975
    Miscellaneous correspondents “Y,” 1968-1975
    Midwinter Colloquium [includes notes, agendas, brochures and other material], 1972-1975, and undated

© 2018 Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary
100 E. 27th Street Austin, Texas 78705
P: 512-404-4800
powered by finalsite