Home /
page tools :
email page print page small type large type


Austin Seminary graduates are popping up everywhere. In its one hundred year plus history, Austin Seminary has touched the lives of more than 3,000 students. The Austin Seminary Alumni web page provides an on-line location for former classmates to catch up and share information about their lives, families, and ministries; it also serves to strengthen and maintain connections between the Seminary and its graduates.


Want to listen to the 2015 ASA Workshop that was led by The Reverend Blair Monie? You can do so below.

2015 ASA Workshop

Indian Nations Presbytery
Alum Gathering

Friday, February 26
Right after the Presbytery meeting recesses for the day

Join us for a time of fellowship and food! 

Bricktown Brewery
One North Oklahoma| Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104

Please tell us if you can join us: ssandberg@austinseminary.edu or 512-404-4886 by February 24. 



2015 ASA Award Recipients

Cheryl Kirk-Duggan (MDiv’87)

John D. Williams (MDiv’87)

Michael J. Cole (MDiv’75)


Warner Bailey (MDiv’64) is the principal editor of The Theologically Formed Heart, Essays in Honor of David J. Gouwens (Wipf & Stock, 2014). He contributed the essay, “The Aesthetics of Persuasion, Rhetoric in Calvin’s The Golden Book of the True Christian Life [Institutes 3.6-10].”

Judy Record Fletcher (MDiv’69) is the author of the 2015-2016 Presbyterian Women Horizons Bible Study Come to the Waters.


The Thin Place, the tenth book and first novel by Robert D. Lively (MDiv’73, DMin’79), was published this summer (Treaty Oak Publishers, 2015).


David A. Leslie (MDiv’88) has been named executive director of the Rothko Chapel in Houston. The Rothko Chapel is a space for religious ceremonies of all faiths and hosts programs in support of the arts, spirituality, and human rights. 


Alonzo J. Campbell (DMin’94) received an award in May for valuable service and leadership as a site coordinator/instructor to the Certificate in Theology program through the Interdenominational Theological Center in Atlanta, Georgia. 

After twelve years as pastor of Korean Presbyterian Church in Salisbury, Maryland, Dong Yung (MDiv’95) is now pastor of Korean Community Presbyterian Church in Columbia, South Carolina.

GIA Music has released “Breathing Spirit into Dust,” a collection of original hymn texts by David Gambrell (MDiv’98). Included are fifty new hymns on a wide range of themes (including creation, healing, lament, sacraments), with extensive scriptural and lectionary indexes, plus a few “behind the music” notes on each hymn.

Carol Howard Merritt (MDiv’98) will be teaching a doctor of ministry course as an adjunct faculty member for Dubuque Theological Seminary.

Carlos Emilio Ham-Stanard (DMin’99) was elected president of the Seminario Evangélico de Teología de Matanzas, Cuba, on February 10, 2015.

Steve Buchele (MDiv’99) writes that he and his wife, Suzanne, have finished their first year of service in Ghana (www.ServingInGhana.org). Suzanne is associate provost of Ashesi University where Steve teaches leadership and does ministry with the student population. He’s planning to teach a world religions course based on one he took with Professor Terry Muck.

Former admissions director Eleanor Cherryholmes (DMin’95) married John Wright on March 14 in Denton, Texas; Shelby Miller (MDiv’97) conducted the service.


Marvin “Trey” Hegar (MDiv’07) was installed as pastor of First Presbyterian Church, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, on January 1, 2015.

Lisa and Mitchell Holley (MDiv’08) welcomed daughter Skylar McKenzie on September 24, 2015.

Sarah Hegar (MDiv’09) became the Networking Associate for the Presbytery of East Iowa in September.

Melissa Koerner Lopez (MDiv’09) and Jose Lopez (MDiv’10) welcomed daughter, Clara Ruth on April 17, 2015.


John R. Pflug Jr. (MDiv’10)became pastor at Windermere Presbyterian Church, in Wilmington, North Carolina, October 18, 2015. 

Laura Walters (MDiv’11) has been called to be pastor of the Presbyterian Church of Lake Travis in Austin.

Kristi Click (MDiv’14) married Wes Blankman in Houston, Texas, on August 22, 2015.

Alexander K. Cornell (MDiv’14) married student Kathy F. Lee, October 11, 2015.

ordinations |

Len T. Carrell (MDiv’14) was ordained at The Brick Presbyterian Church, New York, New York, and installed as associate pastor of pastoral care at The Village Presbyterian Church, Prairie Village, Kansas.

Molly S. McGinnis (MDiv’14) was ordained at Central Presbyterian Church, Atlanta, Georgia, October 25, 2015.

Gregory D. Allen-Pickett (MDiv’15) was ordained at Wellshire Presbyterian Church, Denver, Colorado, October 4, 2015. 

Michele R. Goff (MDiv’15) was ordained at First Presbyterian Church, Tulsa, Oklahoma, and installed as pastor at Aztec (New Mexico) Presbyterian Church, August 30, 2015.

in memoriam | 

J. Robert Durway (MDiv’48, ThM’49), Fort Worth, Texas, June 28, 2015

John M. McCoy Jr. (MDiv’63), Dallas, Texas, August 30, 2015

John R. Blue (MDiv’71), Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, July 11, 2015 

Loading posts...



Lemuel Garcia-Arroyo
Director of Alumni and Church Relations

100 E. 27th Street
Austin, Texas 78705
Phone: 512-404-4809


Connect with the Austin Seminary Alumni Group on Facebook!

Alumni Goal:
Distance Learning Center

(Last updated November 23, 2015)

Loading Graph...

© 2014 Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary
100 E. 27th Street Austin, Texas 78705
P: 512-404-4800
powered by finalsite