Home /
Community Life / Student Groups
page tools :
email page print page small type large type

Student Groups 2017-2018

African American Student Group

MISSION STATEMENT: To provide support for and address concerns particular to African-American students. Our goal is to serve and support each other, the APTS community, and the larger Austin area. 

Contact: Brandon Maxwell
Brandon.maxwell@student.austinseminary.edu

Sponsors: Asante Todd, Margaret Aymer

APTS Holy Spirit Squad and Polity Bowl

MISSION STATEMENT: To provide an enthusiastic/athletic/creative outlet to promote school spirit.

Contact:  Tyler Henderson
tyler.henderson@student.austinseminary.edu

 

Sponsor: Whit Bodman

Artists in Austin

MISSION STATEMENT: Artists in Austin seeks to engage the Seminary community with the greater arts community in Austin, honoring both the artists at work on our campus and the artists at work in Austin. Artists in Austin wants to support student artists in their ongoing artistic process and facilitate opportunities for the greater seminary community to engage with the city’s plentiful art offerings.

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Diana Small 

diana.small@student.austinseminary.edu

 

Sponsor: Eric Wall

Hispanic Student Association

MISSION STATEMENT: To provide a forum for students of Hispanic descent to support each other and build community/network through the sharing of ethnic and religious experiences. As a student-centered organization, the group will provide opportunities to address specific concerns, issues, and challenges relating to Hispanic Americans within the Austin Seminary community. In addition, students will have opportunities to serve the community and also the greater Austin community.

CONTACT:

Hierald Osorto
heirald.osorto@student.austinseminary.edu

Sponsor: Phil Helsel

Methodist Student Group

MISSION STATEMENT: To establish a connection among Methodist Students for fellowship and discussion of relevant issues.

CONTACT:

Matt Cardona
matt.cardona@student.austinseminary.edu

Debbie Head
debbie.head@student.austinseminary.edu

Michele Lott
michele.lott@student.austinseminary.edu

 

Sponsor: David White

MSSW/MDIV Student Group

MISSION STATEMENT: To provide support for MSSW/MDIV dual degree students.

CONTACT:

Katherine Atkins
Katherine.atkins@student.austinseminary.edu

 

Sponsor: David Jensen

Philosophy Club

MISSION STATEMENT: To encourage philosophical discussion outside the classroom.

CONTACT:
Pam Jarvis                                     
pam.jarvis@student.austinseminary.edu

Adam Anderson                              
adam.anderson@student.austinseminary.edu

Sponsor: Asante Todd

Queer Alliance

MISSION STATEMENT: As Christians, we celebrate each of God’s children, fully inclusive of their sexual and gender identities. By creating a welcoming, supportive, and safe space within the Austin Seminary community for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, transsexual, and queer persons and allies, we hope to light the path for change both in and beyond the walls of Austin Seminary.

CONTACT:
Erica Nelson
erica.nelson@student.austinseminary.edu

Sponsor: Bill Greenway

Seminarians for Anime, Manga, and Comic Books

MISSION STATEMENT: To explore various themes in anime, manga, and comic books that can resonate with theological ones.

CONTACT:
Brandon Maxwell                      
brandon.maxwell@student.austinseminary.edu

Sponsor: Dave Jensen

S.o.S. (Supporters of Seminarians)

MISSION STATEMENT: To offer support for and create a community among spouses, partners, couples, families, and students, while enhancing the experience of and the atmosphere at Austin Seminary


CONTACT:
Lindsey Anderson                 
andersonlindsey@gmail.com

Jessica Henderson              
jesslyn1208@gmail.com

Sponsor: Sarah Gaventa

Students for Social and Environmental Justice (Formerly Corpus Christi Group)

MISSION STATEMENT: To encourage students to live out our ideals of social justice and environmental care as members of the body of Christ.

CONTACT:

Andy Gerhart
andy.gerhart@student.austinseminary.edu

Sponsor: Whit Bodman


Campus Calendar
___________________________

© 2017 Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary
100 E. 27th Street Austin, Texas 78705
P: 512-404-4800
powered by finalsite