How the program works

Each academic year, a group of 12 seminarians are selected to take part in a unique program in which personal, professional and theological exploration of finances is done in a shared community setting. This is our Ministers Facing Money (MFM) Cohort.

The MFM Cohort develops a theology of stewardship and learns how to put it into lifelong practice. Members explore how to help congregations with money management, not to mention how to first deal with personal stewardship.

MFM Cohort members begin as a community of learners and leave as leaders that know how to face money not with fear, but with faith.

Cohort meetings include:

  • 3 all-day retreats
  • 6 evening meetings
  • 9 Financial Peace University (FPU) sessions
  • 3 afternoon workshops
Updates

7/26/13: Initial MFM Cohort invitations have been sent out. We are excited to pilot this program throughout the 2013-14 academic year! Acceptance responses are due no later than August 2 for incoming students and August 7 for middler and senior students. Contact Carrie Graham with questions: cgraham@austinseminary.edu

Schedule

Special Cohort Meetings:

  • Sat, Sept 21, all day: Orientation and FPU Session 1
  • Fri, Sept 27, 12-1pm: Q&A Session
  • Wed, March 26, 1-8pm: PC(USA) Board of Pensions even – “Getting in Shape Fiscally”
  • Sat, March 29, all day: Revaluing Money Retreat

Regular Meetings:

FPU meets Tuesdays, 6-8pm | MFM Cohort meets Wednesdays, 12-2pm
*workshop day

2013 2014
Tues., Oct. 1 January- FPU day & time TBA
Wed., Oct. 23* Tue., Feb. 25
Tues., Oct. 29 Wed., Feb. 26*
Wed., Oct. 30 Wed., March 5
Wed., Nov. 13 Tues., March 18
Tues., Nov. 19 Tues., April 8
Wed., Dec. 4 Wed., April 23
  Tues., April 29
  Wed., April 30*
  Wed., May 14