Eight Juniors Awarded Fellowships, Scholarships

Left to right: John Harrison, Michelle Goff, President Theodore Wardlaw, Kathy Lee, Erica Knisely, Sarah Lancaster, Kris Brown, Mike Chaddick, Sarah Chandler, Dean Allan Cole

Austin Seminary announced eight recipients of merit scholarships for the entering class of 2012. These scholarships and fellowships are awarded to applicants admitted to the Master of Divinity degree program by the faculty of Austin Seminary.

The Jean Brown Fellowship was awarded to Mike Chaddick of Santa Ana, California, John Harrison of Atlanta, Georgia, Erica Knisley of Austin, Texas, and Kathy Lee of New Orleans, Louisiana. These four Fellows were selected for their demonstrated interest in and a strong promise vocationally for leadership in the church, exceptional academic achievement, and leadership ability.

The Jean Brown Fellowship provides each recipient full tuition, as well as a stipend for on-campus housing.

Four incoming students were awarded the Jean Brown Scholarship and the James M. Memorial O’Leary Scholarship; both scholarships provide full tuition coverage. This year’s Jean Brown Scholarship recipients are Kris Brown of Austin, Texas, Sarah Chancellor of Jenks, Oklahoma, and Michele Goff of Tulsa, Oklahoma. Sarah Lancaster from Austin, Texas, was awarded the James O’Leary Scholarship.

The fellowships and scholarships awarded to students are made possible through the support and generosity of donors. Austin Seminary currently has six endowed merit fellowships.

“It is an incredible honor to be a recipient of the Jean Brown Fellowship. I am very humbled by the opportunity to be a part of the Austin Seminary community and to grow in wisdom and the capacity to serve the kingdom of God in any way possible,” Kathy Lee said.

More About Merit Scholarships

(From the Financial Aid Handbook)

Merit-based Fellowships and Merit-based Scholarships are awarded annually to entering MDIV students who demonstrate exceptional academic achievement, leadership ability, and interest in and strong promise vocationally for ministry in the church.

To be considered, applicants must have submitted the full application for admission and the merit-based scholarship application by March 1, 2013. The faculty of the Seminary selects the recipients.

These awards are renewed annually (for up to three resident academic years) provided that students maintain a 3.5 cumulative GPA (on a 4 point scale), and continue to demonstrate leadership and promise for ministry. Each fellowship covers full tuition, a stipend of $255 per month to cover on-campus housing, and an additional stipend of $4,500 per year for other educational costs (for a total current annual award value of $19,560). Scholarships cover the full cost of tuition (current annual value of the award is $12,000).

Interested in finding out more about how you can support Austin Seminary through student scholarships? Contact the Office of Institutional Advancement at 512-404-4886.